Jennifer Crego’s Blog

Are We Too Social?

Posted in Uncategorized by Jennifer on March 2, 2009

The internet gives us an abundance of social media sites to connect with other like-minded individuals. Often times these communities offer real value, but when is it too much? How can a person effectively connect if they are spread between so many social networks? Twitter, FaceBook, FriendFeed, and Pownce, Flickr, Blip.fm, TwitterMoms, Spark People, and Professional Associations with forums, the list goes on and on.

I get social first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee, jumping back and forth between my two favorites, FaceBook and Twitter. Social media is a small part of my job, so I continue the socializing throughout my work day, expanding my reach to some of the mom communities I belong to. I’d be lying if I didn’t say that when I come home from work, after spending all day in front of a computer, I sit down at my desk at home and check all of my sites again.

Where do I draw the line and how much is too much? I feel like my time on social sites is well spent, but I have this nagging question about creep. Is social media slowly preventing me from being as productive as I can be? How do you manage your time on social sites?

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

